Wednesday, 1 October 2014

How to be Successful with network Marketing http://successfulbusinessventure.blogspot.com/2014/09/how-to-be-successful-with-network.html

Saturday, 27 September 2014

How to be Successful with network Marketing

How to be Successful with network marketing.

If you have ever tried to leave your office/floor job for a "work for yourself" opportunity you will know that it isn't for the weak or lazy. You must be hard working with a true passion and desire for long-term success.
We've come up with a list of 10 ways to be successful with network marketing, which can be applied to any network marketing business opportunity. Some will even apply to your own small business/start-up.



1. NETWORK 


This should be the most obvious out of the bunch, but for some reason... Even with the word being in the name, it seems to not be so obvious to some. With that being said, here are a few ways to do this.
Make friends. We trust our friends, and we trust the people we know personally therefore it makes the most sense to actually get to know people. Don't meet someone and the minute you do, throw a sales pitch at them. Grow a real relationship and come up with ways that you and your business can actually benefit them.  
Go to events. Any business related event, or any event where your customers will be, make sure to be there. If you sell makeup or a membership, do not just go to the makeup company you sell's events, where only other salesmen, selling the product you sell will be. Be at the "Makeup lovers" events (Just an example). Events where people are going to buy makeup. Hang out where your customers will be. 
This goes for in-person or online. For example if your customers are all on Facebook or Pinterest, be on Facebook and Pinterest. Do not hang out on Twitter if your customers are not there, and again for in-person events. If you sell Avon don't just go to the Avon events where only other Avon representatives will be, Go to the Fashion and Beauty blogger events, where you know they're looking to buy, because you know they need to have all of the new trendy products.
You can apply this to any business, be where your customer is.

2. Get important people talking.


This goes back to we buy and take recommendations from the people we trust. When a friend or person we trust recommends a product to us, we are usually much more likely to consider buying that product or service. A way that you can do this would be to perhaps get a big blogger talking. If you sell memberships of some sort, give a month of free membership to a big blogger to try out first. Big paid website services offer a free trial for a reason, people feel much more comfortable buying a product or service that they know they will appreciate and enjoy. This i think is mandatory, when you haven't built up trust yet. Therefore this is necessary for a newer company who doesn't already have brand advocates yet. If they have never herd of you they will want to try you out first. 
So that would be how to get the big important blogger to try you out. Let them try it for free. Now this is a double whammy, because if the blogger can try you out for free and loves you, you now have a brand advocate when they share their love for you to their huge following of readers. The potential customers/readers have now herd of you, so they will be much more comfortable making a purchase because your product has been recommended by someone they respect and trust. Also known as the blogger you offered the free service to.

3. Don't over-sell yourself or your business.
A huge mistake that i see network marketing business owners make is over selling their business on social media. YES people need to know that you're running a business and they need to know that if they need what you're sellig then they can go to you. But that doesn't mean that every single Twitter post that you publish needs to say  "Big sale, come buy _____ [Website Link]" OR "Click to buy Tupperware [Website Link] If people don't know you, your business, or trust you and your business know one will click on these links and make a purchase. You know this, because i'm sure you doing this has never resulted in a click or conversion, or even a lead.
Give people value. It is as simple as that. Create content that is actually benefiting your customer, this will result in the opt-in, eventual lead and eventual sale. Once your customer opts-in to your social channels or website, they get to see your message regularly, which will result in the trust and relationship. If you're creating valuable content that your customer can enjoy they will began to like you and your businesses message.

4. Make sure you're easily reachable


Make sure you're easily reachable, you must have a website, be on social media, create a blog, have an email list, youtube, be present at events,  etc etc etc. Be everywhere they are. If they're looking for you, or someone who offers what you offer you need to be the very first they find. If they are looking to become apart of your business, for example if you sell memberships, and they want to start selling memberships they are going to join the person they find and the person who is most helpful..This needs to be you!

5. Do everything you can to help your recruits succeed.
You must have the attitude of , when they succeed you succeed, and really this is just reality. When you have been recruiting new members to your team you must treat it like you would treat a new employee you make money off of these new recruits so you must treat them with the most love and care. If they need help be there. If they are happy they will tell their friends, family and people around them giving the business you work with a great reputation and positive word of mouth. 

7. Brand yourself and your business, Why you?
If you're in network marketing chances are you are not the only one selling your product or service you may have a huge amount of competition in your area. This means you need to brand YOUR BUSINESS NOT THEIR BUSINESS You need to totally brand out your business of course you should stick to the same name as there may be rules against changing that with some companies. But you do not have to use all of the original branding don't be afraid to totally re-brand. 
This way if people are falling in love with your service because you're amazing with customers and you do everything you can to help, people will know to go to you and not just any other seller or rep. If you sell wake-up now like us here at Successful business ventures then people will know that it's "Wake up now with Success is us" or "Wake up now with Kassie" Be creative with it. People need to be able to recognize you and your branding.

8. Make use of all selling resources.
Don't just look for customers in person, or don't just look for customers online, (Unless your business is online based) even then though you should still look to advertise in multiple ways. 
Run an ad campaign from time to time, Visit local businesses, leave brochures at local grocery stores, give your business card out when you meet someone new out on the town. You may be just giving them your card in order to stay in touch, but when they realize you run a business, selling something they're looking for you may have a new customer. Make use of free advertisement websites like Kijiji, sell on ebay, set up an online store, use LinkedIn, join groups and meet people though there, make use of twitter and your blogs..Make use of all the mediums you can think of, and push a little harder with the ones you have most success with.

9. Treat your business like a business.
You need to treat your business like what it is [A business], don't give up when you don't get a sale after only trying one type of advertising, don't be afraid to put a little money into it, don't be afraid to put 20$ into a facebook advertisement. Run a Google Campaign Get a custom domain, Which goes back to branding yourself properly. You are a business owner, so advertise, and put a little work in like a business owner would.



I chose the membership route, as i sell  MCA a roadside assistance service. As from what i can see it seemed to be the most profitable when i was looking for a great business to build. But you can apply these tips to any business. If you're interested in learning a little more about what i do send me an email at
ana@mcabusinesscareer.com or visit my website http://www.mcabusinesscareer.com/ Having a few easy to start businesses is great to show you just what is profiting for you. For example when i started MCA, I started for 40$ and I've been able to make a career out of it. Since i had little to loose i figured it was worth it. I've had great success with this, and i think you can too with the right help, don't be afraid to message...
Good-Luck


Saturday, 23 August 2014

11 Reasons Why you Can't Ignore Social media and Digital Marketing anymore.


11 Reasons Why You Need to be Marketing With Digital and Social Media Platforms in 2014!

August 19th, 2014 Originally posted by  Author Kathleen PaulUncategorized 

Most of us in 2014 have come to the realization that social media and digital marketing, are no longer just handy extra marketing tools to make use of. Instead we realize that it is absolutely essential in today’s world of business.
With new websites like Pinterest, Instagram, Snapchat and Vine on the rise, we are seeing more and more valuable social channels with exponential growth and success among internet users. Which leads us to believe that social will not be going anywhere!
Whether you have already jumped on the social media for business train, or whether you’re still researching and trying to find the best agency or the best way to approach this new, trend filled and ever changing way of marketing. There are probably social networking channels where your customers are spending their time that you haven’t been taking full advantage of.
Recently we have taken the time to heavily research this topic, and the statistics we've found should be hard to ignore for most businesses. Here are some of the key reasons that show us why we need to be using social networking platforms, to market our businesses.

1. The ability to have your customers promote your product for you!

With social platforms like Instagram and Pinterest growing every year. You may have noticed the many product and food photos circulating these visual platforms. Before social, people were not typically photographing their favorite products and food because they weren't able to show it off publicly, like we are now.
These social platforms really allow your fans to promote your content, and product. With every re-tweet, Instagram photo, repin and Facebook share, your fans are promoting and letting their friends know how much they love you! This is a huge trend now on social media. We love sharing and talking about the things we love.

2. Measurement.

The measurement options are endless. You will be aware of every view, every click, every time someone likes your content etc. With traditional advertising there isn't very much you can be sure of, in terms of measurement. You can only make assumptions.
Any digital advertising/marketing allows you to really break down the type of content that has been successful. While also allowing you to test which content needs to be adjusted or improved upon. A social media professional can really help you capitalize on this effectively.

3. The ability to target your desired audience.

Whether we are talking about television commercials, billboard ads, print or radio. The only targeting options are through making predictions on who the viewers, readers or listeners are. With this being the case, it is extremely difficult to see an accurate return on investment.
When you set ads through digital platforms, you have full demographic, location and interest targeting options.

4. Cost.

The cost difference between traditional advertising and new media advertising are extreme.
National commercials produced by an advertising agency can cost a business an average of $342,000 for a 30-second spot. (2008 Sourced from the American Association of Advertising Agencies.) Compare this to advertising on YouTube, where more than 1 billion unique users go to look for video content each month, and where your efforts can be measured efficiently. The difference is astounding! Professional studio quality video production for the web is only a fraction of the cost.
Average cost-per-click (Avg. CPC)
The average amount that you've been charged for a click on your ad. Average CPC is calculated by dividing the total cost of your clicks by the total number of clicks.
  • For example, if your ad receives two clicks, one costing $0.20 and one costing $0.40, your average CPC for those clicks is $0.30.
  • Average CPC is based on your actual CPCs (the actual amount you’re charged for a click on your ad), which might be different than your maximum CPCs (the highest amount that you’re willing to pay for a click).
  • To see your average CPC amounts, look at the “Avg. CPC” column in one of the tables within your Campaigns tab.
Cost-per-view (CPV)
Cost-per-view (CPV) bidding is the default way to set the price you’ll pay for your AdWords video ads (when created with AdWords for video). While traditional display ads charge you for impressions, with CPV you pay only when a viewer watches your video.
With traditional online text ads or image ads, customers on the web may see your ad, read its text, and click your URL to go directly to your site. This type of interaction doesn't take interactive content like video ads into account. With CPV bidding, you won’t be charged for just an impression or a video interaction click on your ad.
With AdWords for video reporting, you’re able to evaluate how engaged viewers are with your content, where they choose to watch your videos, and when they drop off from watching your content.
Example
If you think it’s worth 25 cents to have someone watch your video, you can set US$0.25 as your max CPV. For an in-display True View video ad, you’ll pay a maximum of US$0.25 when users begin watching your video. For in-stream, you’ll pay the maximum CPV when the user watches 30 seconds or sees the end of the ad, whichever comes first. You pay nothing if they don’t initiate the video or drop off from the video before the minimum amount of time passes.
You can also set a lower bid for your in-display True View video ads than for your in-stream video ads.

5. Businesses that are using twitter average double the amount of leads per month.

Untitled
Image Sourced from Twitter

6. The ability to listen.

Social media is a place where people go to tell the world about the things that make them happy, excited or upset. This gives brands the ability to listen and truly understand the audience they’re marketing to.

7. Social media can give you the ability to gain trust.

In everyday life, the friends or people you’re spending the most time with, are going to feel a lot closer to you, than the old friends whom you never see anymore. This goes the same for businesses and social media. The brands that are communicating with their fans most, will have built trust, and will have gained a higher level of importance to the customer.
“85% of followers feel more connected with a small business after following them”– Sourced from Twitter

8. The ability to establish yourself as an expert in your niche.

When your brand is posting regularly, it can really give you the opportunity to show off your thoughts and expertise. People view others based on what they’re talking about. If you’re a great Realtor and you’re posting photos, video, and links about this topic. Others will be likely to think of you when they need a Realtor.

9. Build awareness and be found.

An active Youtube presence alone, can inspire a lot of interest around your brand. You will notice when searching for reviews or information on Google. The search results will often include a Youtube video, where a video exists. Therefore if a potential customer or client has been directed through to your Youtube content. This gives them the opportunity to find your website.

10. Easily shared and easy to talk about.

We are much more likely to share and talk about great content and information that we've found on social media than we are to talk about print or radio advertisements. On social media, content is extremely easy to share. Usually at the end of every blog or social media post, we are encouraged and reminded to share that piece of content.
How often do you hear a friend, family member or colleague mention a great billboard advertisement? It has to be pretty remarkable for someone not to just forget about it. On social media we see information and brand content being shared every day.

11. We communicate with brands on social media, because we want to! 

Traditional advertising has been described as “Disruptive”. On social media when your fans are communicating with you. It’s not because they are forced to, but because they actually want to.
A great video from 2010 discussing how businesses are using Social media... Original here.

Original article written by Kathleen Paul Via MMD Digital a Design, marketing, digital, social media marketing and video production firm. They are great! check out the author On Twitter @Katlauraann  

For any webdesign, digital or social media marketing needs contact Kathleen Paul at the above email and she will get you set up with the right people! Until then enjoy your week.
Original article http://bit.ly/mmdblog

Saturday, 5 July 2014

Is your Sales person just as important as your product. | How to find leads digitally.

Is your salesmen just as important as your product?





In sales you learn pretty fast that a customer or client is essentially buying into YOU, the sales man or women when they make a purchase. I overhear comments being made regularly that if you hold a high quality product it is unimportant whether or not you're marketing to the correct audience, providing competitive prices or anything else for that matter.

This is simply untrue! Marketing, sales, or whether or not people know about your business is one thing, but this is in the same category as the "buy and sell" line that I hear so often..."all you gotta do it buy and sell to make money"...Right! but it's the process of accomplishing this, that is the difficult part. Yes in a nutshell buying and selling, or inventing and selling, or offering a service and selling would be a pretty great plan to start with.

Something else that matters tremendously though, that may or may not seem to be obvious, Is that when it comes to selling, business, blogging or social media, a customer or client is essentially buying into YOU! sometimes to the equivalent  or more so than they are the product.
Which may seem absolutely crazy to some of you who believe that nothing else should be of concern other than the product.

Yes the product is like content, and no one is going to visit a blog everyday without great content, but if you do not respect the writer because for example they treated you like junk once at a bloggers convention. You are not visiting their blog with or without great content!

Obviously yes when it comes to digital or with anything for that matter, content is king! and i will be the first to vouch for that as a marketer. In sales though, I have sold things that the client or customer had very little interest in to start, they could have purchased a dress from any other boutique but they were buying into me.They trusted my expertise. They were unfamiliar with the store, so naturally they want to purchase from a more trusted  or known merchant that they know of like a brand with status like Chanel, but I made them feel secure in their purchase.

If they were unfamiliar with the boutique and if the saleswomen was nowhere to be found or gave an attitude or ignored the client. They would have walked out and never returned, and that would be that! Instead they purchased, returned and spread our name to family and friends.

Lets use an even more obvious example. That was obvious!
"Well of course you are not going to buy if the salesmen was rude".
Lets say you want to buy a car. You want a black car with a back seat, that is easy on gas and for under $15,000. Well Honda, Toyota and Ford probably all have a car like this.

Lets say they visit Ford, They ask the salesmen if it is all-wheel drive..The salesmen is unable to provide a valid response, He starts chatting with his girlfriend and now leaves the buyers unattended to head off to Toyota...
This is the same for blogging or any other content creation or Digital selling.
The other day I visited a women's blog who made a comment saying something like "someone with no experience in Social Media but experienced in something else totally unrelated can charge more for services than a college grad should" WHAT!! So you are saying that someone with no expertise can charge more than someone who has thoroughly studied the specific topic just because of the date on their birth certificate. ..This is such an unwise way of thinking..

Anyways, from there i couldn't stand her blog and will not return. It is not just about the product. You need great AMAZING  people selling and representing your brand. Whether it be, your store's sales person, or your social media account manager or blogger. You need people who are relatable and an absolute expert in the topic. You need blog writers, social media people and sellers that you, yourself would buy into because at the end of the day a client or customer is buying just as much into your salesmen as they are your product!